We welcome you to worship and learn with us at Bet Shalom Messianic Congregation.

We gather together weekly for Hebraic worship, Biblical teaching from the Hebrew perspective, Messianic Dance and caring fellowship.

We look forward to seeing you!
Rabbi Amnon & Rebbetzin Lynette Shor


Messianic Lifestyle Class - 2 PM
In the Oneg Hall
Shabbat Service - 4 PM
In the Sanctuary
Oneg after Shabbat Service
In the Oneg Hall


101 W Clinton Avenue
Fresno CA 93705

between Palm and Fruit Avenues
Donate Now


Bet Shalom Messianic Congregation
5132 N Palm Avenue PMB 101
Fresno, CA 93704



Do you want to learn more about the Hebrew foundations of the Bible? Come to the Messianic Lifestyle Class at 2 PM each Shabbat.

Many who believe in the Messiah Yeshua do not realize that the seven feasts which God commanded in Vayikra (Leviticus) 23 are still being observed by their Jewish neighbors. The Feasts, as given to Israel, bear a three-fold significance. First there was the seasonal aspect of each holiday; then the feasts were to be a memorial of God’s dealings with the Hebrews; and finally there was the prophetic symbolism of God’s dealings with His kehillat (community), which is made up of believing Jews and Gentiles.

A study of the Feasts of Israel will not only bring a greater understanding of the Hebraic roots of our faith, it will teach the believer much about God’s plan of redemption throughout the ages. Vayikra (Leviticus) 23 lists these seven feasts in order of their Biblical observance: Pesach (Passover), Hag HaMatzot (The Feast of The Unleavened Bread), HaBikkurim (First Fruits), Shavuot (Weeks, Pentecost), Yom Teruah (Rosh Hashanah, Feast of Trumpets), Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement), and Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles or Booths).


Pesach, the first and probably best known feast comes in the spring, in the month of Nisan, also called Aviv. Pesach commemorates the redemption of the Children of Israel from Egyptian slavery. On the first Pesach each  household sacrificed a perfect yearling lamb and sprinkled the blood on the top piece and side posts of the door. The “Angel of Death” passed over the houses which were protected by the blood of the lamb, but where there was no blood, the first born was slain.


The Feast of Unleavened Bread occurs immediately following Passover. It begins the day after the Passover eve, and lasts for seven days. Because they are so closely related in time and purpose, the names are often interchangeable. During Passover and the Feast of Unleavened Bread the Jewish people put away all leaven from their houses and eat unleavened bread, or Matzah. Leaven in Scripture is a symbol of sin; the unleavened Matzah graphically portrays the pure and sinless Messiah. It is pierced, even as our Lord was pierced by the nails in His hands and feet and the Roman spear in His side; and it has stripes because of the rapid baking process, reminding us that Isaiah said, “But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities … and with His strips, we are healed” (Yeshayahu [Isaiah 53:5).


The Feast of First Fruits is directly related to Passover and Unleavened Bread, for it is to be celebrated on “the day after the Shabbat.” In Biblical times this holiday was a feast of thanksgiving for the barley harvest, the first grain of the season. The first harvest is viewed as a promise of the larger harvest to come because the conditions which brought about the first harvest will also bring the rest. Yeshua HaMashiach is the First Fruit whom Adonai raised from the dead. Just as the barley harvest was the promise of more to come, He is our promise of resurrection and eternal life, through faith in Him, for He has conquered death and the grave.


Shavuot, or the Feast of Weeks, also is calculated from the first feast, Passover. It comes 50 days after the Shabbat following Passover. Shavuot also is a harvest festival, thanking Adonai for the wheat harvest. According to oral tradition, it is also the day that Moses received the Torah on Mt. Sinai. On Shavuot, the priests offered two loaves of bread made from the newly harvested grain. Unlike other offerings, these loaves were baked with leaven. These loaves represent the double portion provided before the day of rest, which is Shabbat.


After Shavuot, a long time elapses before the next feast. We see in this, our present age of waiting for the return of the Messiah Yeshua. Then in the autumn, on Tishri, the seventh month of the Hebrew calendar comes Yom Teruah, the Feast of Trumpets, more commonly called Rosh Hashanah. In Vayikra (Leviticus) 23:24 Adonai commanded the sounding of trumpets on the first day of the seventh month to call the nation of Israel together for a very solemn assembly. According to rabbinical tradition, Yom Teruah is the beginning of ten days of judgment when all the children of men pass before the Creator. The righteous are written into the Book Life, the wicked are condemned, and those who are not wholly righteous or wholly wicked are given ten days to repent and thus escape judgment. We who are written in the Lamb’s Book of Life do not fear judgment, but rather look for His return when He shall come with the sound of the Shofar and the voice of the Archangel to bring us into His Shabbat of rest.


The ten days of repentance and introspection lead into the most solemn day of the Jewish year, Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement. It has become a time of fasting and prayer. It was the only time when the Temple in Jerusalem stood, that the high priest could enter the Holy of Holies. He went in before Adonai with the blood of a sacrificed animal to seek forgiveness for the sins of the people. Today there are no animal sacrifices and no Temple. The Jewish people rely solely on repentance for forgiveness of sins, but they have no assurance that Adonai has heard and forgiven.  The Scriptures teach in Vayikra (Leviticus) 17:11 that atonement is in the blood. When Messiah offered His own blood as our atonement or covering, the veil of the Temple was torn in two, signifying that He had opened the way into the Holy of Holies. By His sacrifice all who believe now have access to Adonai and the atonement for sin. We look forward to that great and final Day of Atonement prophesied in Zechariah 12:10 and 13:1 when all Israel shall mourn for the Messiah and accept the atonement He has made.


The seventh and final feast is Sukkot, the Feast of Tabernacles or Booths. In ancient times this was the final fall harvest festival, a time of ingathering in Jerusalem. The Jewish people built booth-like structures and lived in them during this feast as a reminder of the temporary dwellings the Children of Israel had in the wilderness. Even today throughout the Land of Israel you will see many open-roofed, three-sided huts for this festival. They are decorated with tree boughs and autumn fruits as a reminder of the harvest.

Everyone in Israel who was able, came up to Jerusalem for this harvest festival every year. The Temple worship for the holiday included the ritual pouring of water from the Pool of Siloam, symbolic of the prayers for the winter rains. It was at this time that Yeshua cried out, “… If any man thirst, let him come unto me and drink.” (Yochanan [John] 7:37-38). After Israel’s final Yom Kippur, Day of Atonement, Sukkot will continue to be celebrated in Jerusalem Zechariah 14:16).

Sukkot speaks of the final rest, as well as the final harvest. Yochanan (John) wrote in Revelation 21:3:

“Behold, the tabernacle of Adonai is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people, and Adonai Himself shall be with them, and be their Elohim.”

It is our prayer that soon there will come the fulfillment of all which He promised, saying,

“ … I am the Alef and the Tav, the beginning and the end. I will give to him that is thirsty from the fountain of the water of life freely.” Revelation 21:6